Olivia Jageurs

Allan Clayton tenor

Julius Drake piano

Christopher Lowrey countertenor

Marcus Farnsworth baritone*

Olivia Jageurs harp

Richard Watkins french horn

Dame Harriet Walter speaker

The five Canticles span more than a quarter century of Benjamin Britten's life. These marvellously vivid, intensely dramatic works are based on a wide range of literary sources that held deep spiritual and religious meaning for the composer. An extraordinary ensemble of musicians present all five works, in words and music.

Canticle I: My Beloved Is Mine and I Am His
Canticle II: Abraham and Isaac
Canticle III: Still Falls the Rain
Canticle IV: The Journey of the Magi
Canticle V: The Death of Saint Narcissus

70 minutes (no interval)

This concert is dedicated to the memory of Peter Espenhahn.


*Marcus Farnsworth steps in for George Humphreys who is indisposed.

Venue: Temple Church
Click here for map & Directions


The safety of our audience, musicians and staff comes first.